Ryan ten Doeschate returns to Netherlands squad


Ryan ten Doeschate last played for Netherlands in 2011 © Getty
More than seven years since playing for his country, Ryan ten Doeschate has returned to the Netherlands squad for the last two games of the ICC World Cricket League against Namibia, scheduled to be held in Dubai on December 6 and 8, Cricket Netherlands announced on Tuesday.

Netherlands, currently the table toppers of the WCL with 18 points, have already qualified for the World Cup qualifiers along with Papua New Guinea. However, consolidating the top position is the top priority for the Dutch team as the winner of the WCL will take the 13th position in the ODI league that will begin from 2020.

Ten Doeschate, whose last international appearance for Netherlands was during the 2011 World Cup, was one of only three cricketers – along with Sachin Tendulkar and AB de Villiers – to score two centuries in the multi-team event. The 37-year-old, who has been an important member in the Essex team over the years, essayed a key role in their County Championship victory this season.

Welcoming the return of the veteran all-rounder, coach Ryan Campbell said: “Getting a player of Ryan’s talent and experience is a massive gain for us. What he brings to the squad is more than just runs, wickets and brilliant fielding. He brings a wealth of experience and knowledge in big matches.

“As captain of Essex he has just led them to the Division One Championship. Our youngsters will gain knowledge that you just can’t buy off a shelf. We are on the brink of something special but we will need cool, calm heads to see us through, I have no doubt Ryan will bring that,” Campbell added.

Pacer Shane Snater also returns to the squad, having missed the matches against Kenya due to personal reasons. Netherlands, however, will miss the services of all-rounder Michael Rippon, who wasn’t released by New Zealand’s provincial team Otago.

Netherlands squad: Peter Borren (c), Wesley Barresi, Ben Cooper, Ryan ten Doeschate, Paul van Meekeren, Stephan Myburgh, Max O’Dowd, Scott Edwards, Sikander Zulfiqar, Roelof van der Merwe, Shane Snater, Pieter Seelaar, Timm van der Gugten, Fred Klaassen, Viv Kingma.