Three Andhra districts moved out of Red-hit list


NEW DELHI: The ministry of home affairs has removed three districts in Andhra Pradeshfrom the list of 106 left wing extremism (LWE) affected districts, which used to receive central assistance as part of security related expenditure (SRE) for counter-insurgency operations.
Sources said no Naxal violence has been reported in Anantapur, Kurnool and Prakasam for a very long time, hence it was decided “security assistance fund from Centre is no more required.” “The CRPF deployment now in these districts is also almost zero, while West Godavari has been added for the first time in this list,” said a senior MHA officer.

Union minister for state of home Hansraj Gangaram Ahir, while replying to a question in Lok Sabha on Tuesday, stated the SRE districts have been reviewed and six districts of Andhra Pradesh – East Godavari, Guntur Srikakulam, Visakhapatnam, Vizinagaram and West Godavari will be covered under SRE scheme from April 1, 2018.

West Godavari has been added among LWE affected states for the first time, said sources. Earlier, eight districts of Andhra Pradesh were receiving the grant.